2 0 1 3 + What The Year Was For Me…

Goodbye to twenty thirteen…

Another year has quickly come and gone. Like every year, this one was full of successes and failures. Though, I hardly believe in failures at all because with each hurdle—each struggle, there is always a lesson to be learned !

I can’t help but to feel proud and happy while reflecting upon the past year…

For starters, I threw myself entirely back into school and achieved my goal of transferring to Cal State San Marcos, in a matter of months–happy to put my head in the books and receive an education—even if that meant taking three summer school classes in six weeks or turning down ever-inviting social events in order to study…

I spent more time on my yoga mat and ran more miles than ever–taking care of my body and learning to love it–rather than sipping on too many cocktails and dancing on tables (though plenty of that still occurred, it just truthfully isn’t me…most of the time 😉 )…

I got tattooed on a whim, during the trip of a lifetime in snowy Lake Tahoe, with the two most special and beautiful creatures on this planet…

I fell madly in love for the first time ever with a special guy–and also experienced a whole different level of heartbreak (both, in my opinion, equally as important for all to encounter)…

I got my hair cut for the first time in probably five years…

I remained positive and trusting no matter what shape my heart was in as I witnessed my sisters’ engagement to the man of her dreams and my sweet tia & tio’s wedding vows…

I spent quality time laughing &crying, trying new things &doing absolutely nothing, arguing & apologizing, conversing & discovering amazing new things about my family and friends–realizing that the quality is always superior to the quantity of people I surround myself with, and I am beyond lucky in that department…

I was constantly empowered and inspired from all walks of life–from the people closest to me to the stranger barista at a coffee shop or the happy face who greeted me into yoga…

I lost my mind completely, as I tend to do, as I blissfully listened to live music at a number of shows–where I am truly my happiest…

I filled out my application to study abroad (in an intensive language & culture program) in Spain for the summer of 2014…

I cried in surprise with my sister and mom as we finally welcomed another puppy (English Bulldog: Louie Winston Rupert the 2nd) into the family …

After a little reflection, it is most clear that twenty thirteen brought plenty of things…some silly and some significant…but I am most proud to just have fought for my happiness, above all…
That is what we are all in strife for—and all deserving of. As the things around us are constantly changing–the unexpected is bound to occur and we too, continue to evolve. That can seem intimidating at times but, in my humble opinion, that too is the best part of being human…every second of every day, we have choices to make and opportunities for rebirth. We can also always chose to focus on the good, even if it’s a simple as being healthy and alive…

So, even though today marks the first day of another calendar year, I don’t plan to make any ambitious New Years resolutions…today is just another day…and I am simply just looking forward to another year full of evolution– ready to gracefully let go of the things that are no longer good for me, yet excited to further become the woman I am intended to be by constantly challenging myself–all while watching my loved ones flourish in their own unique lives 🙂

…the good, the bad, the beautiful and ugly…twenty fourteen: bring it on !
There is not a doubt in my mind that this year will be a golden one !
Happy, happy new year to all ! Xx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Mary Pollock says:

    This blog brings an abundance of emotions for me! Being your Mom I wanted to be the first to leave a comment. It is every mothers wish to see their child flower. At times I see you flourish in metallic gold petals and other times in the softest of pink petals. You are strong and soft all at the same time. But most of all, your are aware and your are open! I love that about you! You challenge yourself in ways I never imagined! And this makes me a very proud Mom! Bring on the lessons, joys, heartbreaks and serenity 2014… there wont be a year where they wont be available… we just have to listen for them and USE them! Cant wait to follow your life here.
    XOXO!! Love you PJ!

  2. Marlayna Lof. says:

    I love your blog! Your voice speaks loudly through your choice of words and is extremely inspiring! Keep it up 🙂

    1. pjulianp says:

      thank you Marlayna–that means a lot! hope you’re having a great start to the new year ! xo

  3. kehani says:

    I LOVE your blog!! and am absolutely going to the store this evening and trying out that breakfast recipe!:) Can’t wait to read more!!

    1. pjulianp says:

      Thanks so much for reading Kehani–hope you enjoyed the breakfast recipe & your doing well! Hopefull we will run into each other soon. Xo!

Leave a Reply

