Joe Marson: Conjures Soulful Sounds

Your job is to be a magician, not a musician. You must create magic.

Joe Marson

maxresdefault

I’ve always been a firm believer in getting to know someone through their taste in music; it is often telling of so much more: their demeanor, current mood, style…maybe their culture?

Sharing music is fun and one of my favorite things to do especially with those I know are seeking out an eclectic, talented range of sound.

It is rare that I find an artist I know I can recommend to an array of friends. A voice that will fulfill the auditory senses of a number of listeners. Lyrics that will touch different chords in different people. But, alas, I’ve found him.

Meet Joe Marson.

Marson is a musician who falls under a genre that is uniquely his own: electric soul magic. His voice carries a soothing grit that is long-lasting and soulful.

We correspond through email and his answers are as telling as his music is inspiring.


Q+A with Joe Marson

Take me back to the beginning. How did you get your start in music?
I fell in love with music in a real way the year my mom moved our family to Italy for a year when I was 10 years old. My older brother and I were separated from a lot of distractions and turned to music very enthusiastically and without distraction. The things we naturally turned to were very adult, for lack of a better word. Lot’s of provocative rock n roll like the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Pearl Jam, Sound Garden etc. We also were introduced to punk rock, acoustic songwriters, and hip hop by the kids at the International school we attended.
When I was 13, I walked into a music store and said I wanted to play guitar. From there I wanted to play like Jimi Hendrix and then I became a songwriter around the age of sixteen or seventeen and then kind of got into other styles of music and went from there.”

Do you remember the moment when you decided that you wanted to spend your life playing/making music? Do tell…
Pretty much a year into taking up the guitar.
Who or what inspires your creativity?
I get inspiration from watching inspired people. Other musicians, actors, everyday people, historical figures. Musically speaking: Jeff Buckley, Jimi Hendrix, the Chili Peppers, Ben Harper, Bobby McFerrin. These are all my soul animals. The thing these artist have in common is they are all bit hard to describe because they pull from a lot of different genres. They sort of pick out the soul from different walks of life and combine them to make their own thing.
Describe your music in three words…
Electric. Soul. Magic.
What is your mission/cause?
I want to play big festivals. Thats always been my dream. Thats where the music lovers are, and I love playing live….I just feel like there’s so much purity and beauty in a huge crowd coming together and all moving to the same rhythm, singing the same words.
What piece of advice would you give to budding musicians?
Be amazing at what you do. Live and on record. If you are not amazing, you aren’t even in the game yet.
Your job is to be a magician, not a musician. You must create magic. Magic hypnotizes the crowd. They are mesmerized in complete silence by your softest songs and forced to move their heads and bodies on the up tempo ones.
Describe one of the unexpected twists or turns your journey has taken.
Being a finalist at the Guitar Center Singer/Songwriter contest. 5 of us who were picked (out of 14,000 people) all won about 10K worth of music gear and a trip to LA to compete. The hotel they put us up in was amazing as was the whole trip (I made the trip into a whole west coast tour)
Who are you listening to?
10 % Chris Stapelton and the new Adele, and then 90% my iPod on shuffle which pretty much includes the best of almost every genre.
What is next for you? And where is the best place for your fans to follow along?
I’m on a 3 month tour ! Also finishing up a new record.

I acknowledge Joe Marson for making his music accessible to the masses. For traveling cross country to share his gift with the world. For pursuing his dream and mastering his craft along the way.

Listen to Joe Marson’s music here. And follow along here.

Xx,
Pp.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kathleen Pollock says:

    A delightful interview! I learned a lot. I always do when I read Paige’s articles!

Leave a Reply

